Skip to content

Life In Transit – In Which There Be Leaping

January 4, 2013

When I started writing Bus Stories, I added the phrase “life in transit” to the title of the blog. And for those of you who have been reading my stories for all this time, you have certainly noticed a bit of transit – or more accurately, transition.  The first happened in October 2011, when what was known in these here parts as “Viadoom” impacted the bus routes, and I shifted to riding the water taxi. From that point on, my stories have been sparse. Then, on October 1, 2012, the ole 54 bus route quietly, and without ceremony (from me, at least), ended. Yup. The 54 is no more. It has been replaced by the shiny, red “C Line” as part of the city’s new RapidRide system.  As sad as I am that I won’t be able to grab the ole 54 any more, the RapidRide is a pretty nifty system, and the new buses are hybrids. And did you catch that they are red. So that’s nice.

So on to the next transition. I’ve been a human resources guy for the past 15 or so years. I’ve worked in large companies and small; from start-ups to firms centuries old; from marketing to law to software. As of January 1st, that changed. With the tremendous love and support of my partner, I left my last company, and have stepped out into the new year as a contract recruiter. The well-wishes and amazing appreciation that I received from the office as I departed feels like, collectively, my former co-workers have become the next incarnation of the ole 54’s Driver Dude, nodding to me as I board the bus on my journey.

I don’t know what exactly will be on this new route, gentle reader, but I know there will be stories to tell, and I hope you will ride with me as I continue my observations in transit.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. I’ve always loved your stories ever since I came across them some year or so ago. Thank you for taking us alongside your journey – and we look forward to hearing more about your new venture! Wishing you happiness, dear Richard!

  2. Richard, what wonderful news. Good luck as you embark on a new path in 2013 and I can’t wait to read more stories!

  3. Busboy permalink

    First, congratulations on taking a big step. Second, I salute your co-workers for giving you such a wonderful launch. Last, but certainly not least, I am very much looking forward to a resumption of bus stories from you. I’ve missed them.

    • Thank you, my bus story brother – it feels good to get back to writing! I so appreciate your support – thank you!

Leave a Reply

