Skip to content

Kitchen Story: Shredded Memories

May 16, 2011

I am a California-born Seattleite. I am a not-very-Jewish Jewish-Zen-optimist. None of this predisposes me to having any real genetic or cultural affinity for barbecue. But when I read this recipe, and noted it was one that the author had received from a neighbor in the 1950’s, I decided to give it a try. Before I go any further, for any readers who are die-hard barbecue mavens, I make no claims that this is “authentic” or anything like you may have grown up with; let’s just get that out there. I have faint memories of childhood barbecue filled with a sweeter, darker sauce; and typically something that was on chicken. I think I first had shredded pork barbecue in Chicago, and thanks to my very faulty memory, I have no recollection about it. Having a cruddy memory can actually help with cooking, I think – I don’t have memories I’m trying to recreate; I don’t feel like I’ve failed if I don’t make something that is exactly like I have had at some time in the past.  It’s handy. So barbecue holds no memories for me, nothing to get in the way of just following the recipe and pronouncing it tasty.  And tangy.

Tangy Pork Barbecue

Taste of Home (April 2009)

12 servings (these would be skimpy…I say 8 servings)

2 tablespoons butter

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 bottle (28 oz) ketchup

2 cups boiling water

¼ cup white vinegar (I used cider vinegar)

¼ cup Worcestershire sauce

1 medium onion, chopped

1 garlic clove, minced

2 teaspoons chili powder

1 teaspoon salt (optional)

1 teaspoon ground mustard

1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper (I used ¼ teaspoon)

1 boneless pork loin roast (3 ½ to 4 lbs)

sandwich buns, split

In a Dutch oven, melt butter over medium heat. Stir in flour until smooth. Add the next 10 ingredients; bring to a boil. Add roast. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 3 hours or until meat is tender.

Remove meat shred with two forks. Skim fat from cooking juices; return meat to juices and heat through. Service with a slotted spoon on buns.

Slightly Altered Jim’ N Nick’s Coleslaw

Bon Appétit  August 2010

8-10 servings

1 2-pound head of green cabbage, quartered, cored, cut crosswise into 1/8-inch-thick slices (about 14 cups)

1 1/4 cups apple cider vinegar

1 cup sugar

1 cup grated peeled carrots

1 large jalapeño, seeded and diced (original recipe called for 4 green onions, thinly sliced)

1/4 cup mayonnaise

Place cabbage in large bowl. Add vinegar and sugar; toss to coat. Cover and let stand 30 minutes. Toss cabbage mixture well; cover and let stand 30 minutes longer. Drain cabbage. DO AHEAD: Can be made 8 hours ahead. Cover and chill.

Transfer drained cabbage to another large bowl. Add carrots, jalapeño, and mayonnaise; toss to coat. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

From → Kitchen Stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

