Skip to content

Not a Bus Story: Peevish Poultry

May 5, 2011

My brain is a weird place. I have been known to jump topics in conversations because I’ve thought about the connection between subjects in my head but haven’t said them out loud. It bewilders people I talk to sometimes as they try and figure out what in the world I am talking about. I also can switch off my brain and stare into space and, if asked, “What are you thinking about?”, the answer is truly, “Nothing.” And then there are times when I just don’t know where my brain gets ideas. Today, for instance, a dear friend wrote to me that she was attending a function this evening and the dinner would likely be “hotel chicken”, and she would end up pushing the chicken around and then go out for dinner afterwards. And I couldn’t stop giggling as I pictured a small chicken, about 4″ high, dressed in a hotel bellboy outfit, standing on everyone’s plate. And as my friend nudged the chicken around the place setting, the chicken would glance over its shoulder at her with great indignation. I blame hours of Looney Tunes cartoons, a penchant for Good n’ Plenty candy and a career that usually requires me to be more serious than not. Our brains need play time – it’s just that mine plays in a sandbox in Bizzaroland!

From → Not Bus Stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

