Skip to content

Bus Story: Keep Your Secret

April 29, 2011

The weather hurts. It pains my fingers with it’s unseasonal chill, it wounds my sense of time with it’s inability to shift into spring, and it stabs my heart to hear of the loss and devastation others are facing. So with rain dripping down my head, I climb aboard the ole 54 and find a seat next to a nice lady with fast food fries. There are times when the smell of those spudly salt vehicles is a glorious thing. This isn’t one of those times. Breathing through my mouth a bit to counteract the effect, I glance out of the window, just in time to see an unusual woman prance past the bus. She is resplendent in velvet. Head to toe, dark purple and maroon velvet. She moves through the drenched waiting passengers as if wading through bullrushes, all the while with a very peculiar smile on her face. If I had to guess, she has a secret. A big one. It’s so much a part of her that she can’t help let a bit of it show, with a smile as if to say, “I know something that you would just DIE to know!” I’ll treat that literally, Mdme Damp Velvet – keep your secret to yourself, lest the knowledge of it drive the rest of us to a scary place from whence we shan’t return. It’s hailing now. I bet she told her secret to Mother Nature and now our hope for spring is in a padded room in a fitted, white jacket with extra long sleeves.

From → Bus Stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

