Skip to content

Bus Story: Dream A Little Dream

January 24, 2011

Monday. And returning to work after a week off. Ultra-Monday. Dark skies, tinged with a deep aqua-blue cloud cover. Empty bus. It didn’t start that way, as it had a clump of Sullen Teens, but after they vacated, we’re left with a handful of riders heading downtown. Strangely, I’ve been trying to clear my head and not anticipate the workday ahead. So the bus feels like a reflection of my own mental state. Makes me feel a little like George Orr. The one in LeGuin’s “The Lathe of Heaven”. What he dreams becomes reality. There is probably a good approach in there for dealing with Mondays and similar dreaded moments: dream your reality. And then make it true. Harder to do than I make it sound, but I’m willing to try if you are, gentle reader. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to take a wee nap the rest of the trip. Pleasant dreams, y’all!

From → Bus Stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

