Skip to content

Bus Story: Confidence in Error

September 15, 2010

On the morning commute with the kids on their way to school. Today, sitting directly behind me are Thinks He Knows Everything Guy and Giggles While Talking Girl. I am just about to switch on the soothing sounds of Sting to shield the back of my head from getting covered by their inanity, when I hear the dude discoursing on attending church services. According to him it’s all “Sit, stand, kneel, stand, sit, kneel, over and over again. If I wanted to do that, I’d do it at home”, he says. The girl tries to deter his hyperbole a bit, but she giggles so much, he just overrides her with the statement that it’s ALL churches, “…doesn’t matter if it’s Christian or catholic.” I cover my guffaw by pretending to cough. Ah, the ignorance of youth paraded around with such confidence. I’d like to admire his conviction, but instead I want to whack him with a rolled-up magazine. It’s probably a good thing that I’m not a teacher.

From → Bus Stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

