Skip to content

Bus Story: Take a Holiday and Stable Your Horse

September 4, 2010

The start of a three-day weekend, “end of summer” holiday and downtown is filled with Very Serious Gaming Geeks attending a convention as well as general holiday-ers in town for other festivals. One of the latter stepped aboard the bus this evening, and I stifled a gasp. She’s a woman of indeterminate age, clearly from out of town, asking the driver for directions; wearing a business suit that hangs on her frame. Scary thin. Thin that hurts; thin that causes the soul to cry out in sympathetic pain. She does not have the eyes of someone in distress, however. On the contrary, her gaze sweeps over the sparse group of us, and I know I’m not the only one who flinches. I wonder if the Third Horseman of the Apocolypse stabled her dark steed somewhere and is taking in the sights this Labor Day weekend. If Famine would indeed take a holiday, I’d give ‘er all sorts of places to see so she takes her time before going back to work. Another martini for the lady, bartender, and make it a double!

From → Bus Stories

One Comment
  1. Katherine permalink

    I took a Seattle bus the day before yesterday, and I was hoping it might be yours…but no….just the 73… but I had a totally new perspective on bus riding…I was looking for my own bus stories…THANKS!

Leave a Reply

