Skip to content

Bus Story: Rituals and Reality

June 18, 2010

Climbed aboard this morning and almost tripped over a backpack that was carelessly strewn into the aisle. I turn to see who would do such a thing, to discover two teens deeply engrossed in writing in one another’s yearbook. Oh yeah, it’s that slightly magical time of year, and for those of us without school-age kids, the reminders of the last days of school before summer can be surprising. I close my eyes and, for a moment, I can feel that electrical buzz in the air that surrounds a school on the final days when it’s about cleaning up, saying good-bye, and writing in yearbooks. The ritual of that social moment in time is fraught with joy, disappointment, and when looked back on, some measure of wincing. I, for one, enjoy the time travelling that takes place when I look back through my yearbooks; with smiles, some tears, and a great deal of sighing at what youth sees as reality. Take up your backpacks, young-uns, and go forth into the Summer of 2010. And keep your stuff out of the aisles.

From → Bus Stories

2 Comments
  1. Katherine permalink

    Love it. It is so sigh inducing…but watching my kids with their yearbooks makes me want to grab mine out again…I’ll go look to see what you wrote Shermy…
    K

  2. Katherine permalink

    Love it. It is so sigh inducing…but watching my kids with their yearbooks makes me want to grab mine out again…I’ll go look to see what you wrote Shermy…

Leave a Reply

