Skip to content

Bus Story: Time Travel for the Memory-Challenged

June 15, 2010

The sky is gray, the bus only partially full, I’m looking at the port with all the Lego-esque containers and Jimmy Sommerville sings in my ears. Rather quickly, it’s the late 80’s and I’m temping in San Francisco for an international container transport company. And all I can remember is acres of filing cabinets and the Telex. Part of my job was to send Telex messages around the world, using as few words as possible. I had a handwritten form from someone, and had to transmit that message, but reduce the number of words and characters (since the cost was per letter). I remember nothing else; not what anyone looked like, if there were even people there, where the office was, how long I was there…nuthin. Strange thing, memory. It’s as if my memories were recorded by that Telex. Hopefully, the handwritten notes are in those file cabinets.

From → Bus Stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

